PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Login failure.

jamseal32
November 30th, 2013, 07:09 PM
I have installed Ubuntu 13.10 three different times using NebootCd 5.2 and am still having the same problem. Everything went fine until I reboot and get to the black login screen. I enter Username and password and everything seems fine. Then it takes me down the screen and gives me a what appears to be a shell prompt ending in (~$). I don't know what to enter after this. I've already given it my Username and password. I guess it's asking me for some command to enter the system. I'm new with Linux and don't understand the language yet. I'm a patient person but this is getting monotonous not to mention time consuming. Please help.

heir4c
November 30th, 2013, 07:14 PM
Try:

startx

If that not work then reboot and boot up from recovery mode from the Grub menu. And when you get the little menu click just Enter to boot to the Desktop. (I hope you end up in the Desktop) There you can go to see the additional drivers Tab in Software&Updates via the Dash (UbuntuLogo on the top left). maybe there is some problem with it or you have no more support for your graphics card and can't use the non-free drivers anymore.
What graphics card have you?

jamseal32
December 1st, 2013, 12:29 AM
I tried startx which it downloaded but still does the same thing. But now it won't even enter the Grub menu. Goes straight to the purple screen with Ubuntu and the blinking dots. After that back to the black login screen where I enter Username and password then down to prompt where it appears to ask for a further command.

Bashing-om
December 1st, 2013, 12:48 AM
jamseal32; Hi ! My welcome to the forum.

Something is not at all right ! You should boot to a GUI login, not to a termianl.

To start the trouble shooting process; At that terminal go ahead and login (username and password) and enter the terminal command:

sudo service lightdm start
Which might start the GUI.