PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Experiences Lubuntu and openbox

thorbs
November 30th, 2013, 10:47 AM
Does anybody have experience with openbox on lubuntu? I have been using chrunchbang for some time, and was very happy with it. But the debian stable repositories had some drawbacks when it came to my work, that I was not able to overcome. So I was thinking of installing openbox and tint on Lubuntu. I am not technically enough to forsee any problems or challenges from this. Have anybody taken this route and can tell about there experiences?

thanks.

vasa1
November 30th, 2013, 11:43 AM
Does anybody have experience with openbox on lubuntu? I have been using chrunchbang for some time, and was very happy with it. But the debian stable repositories had some drawbacks when it came to my work, that I was not able to overcome. So I was thinking of installing openbox and tint on Lubuntu. I am not technically enough to forsee any problems or challenges from this. Have anybody taken this route and can tell about there experiences?
By default Openbox is part of Lubuntu. Of course, people can always change things, but out-of-the-box, Lubuntu is LXDE+Openbox. IOW, you don't have to install Openbox on Lubuntu :)

Re. tint, the equivalent default is lxpanel. I haven't used tint and so can't comment on that. See http://pclosmag.com/html/Issues/201010/page07.html for a still useful look at what lxpanel is about.

infectedorganism
December 2nd, 2013, 12:54 AM

thanks.

Currently I am running Lubuntu + Tint2 + Openbox and it is working well. While there is a Openbox session available, I am just using the default Lubuntu session. There have been no real issues setting things up to my liking and it has been fairly easy to do so.