PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Synaptic Package Manager Removed Ubuntu

Saiede
November 26th, 2013, 12:31 PM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu. Using it since a couple of months back and still learning it. But today something weird happened. I was trying to free some disk space from my /boot directory. To do that I have launched Synaptic Package Manager and found initramfs package dependency update is broken and then I tried to remove this package and wanted to re install it.

I selected that package and clicked on Completely remove option thus all my ubuntu system went removed completely. Nothing left !!! Except the grub loader and Win7 in another partition of my HDD.

I have some important documents and files inside ubuntu.

So I am looking forward to if there any option if I can get back my system as it was before . I have searched google but found nothing that much helpful.

Can anyone please help?

heir4c
November 26th, 2013, 12:44 PM
Start up with a live-cd/dvd or live-usb. And see if you can locate your files. Beside that: do nothing else with it before you have help from more advanced users!!!
Normally when you uninstall any program and there are more packages there will be removed, your getting a window with some info about that and you must give the permission to go further.
And if you want make more free space on the boot than you must uninstall old linux kernels via synaptic. I don't now where you get that to remove the initramfs. That's an important part of the system.
I don't now at the moment how you can fix that, that's beyond my knowledge at the moment, but others here can help you with that, I think.
I don't think your Ubuntu is gone, but he can't start it because of the removing of initramfs.
More info about initramfs: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Initramfs

ian-weisser
November 26th, 2013, 03:33 PM