PDA

View Full Version : Why so focused on Ubuntu w/ Coffee?

Thechromester420
November 20th, 2013, 08:43 PM
I know this is probably a pretty pathetic question, but why is this forum so concerned on coffee (and obviously) and Ubuntu? I mean, Ubuntu itself I understand, but what is up with the coffee references? I like it and all, but what is up with it, haha :). It isn't annoying, I just want to know: "Why coffee?"
I'm sure there is a pretty obvious answer, but I don't know that answer, Im new to Ubuntu all-together.

deadflowr
November 20th, 2013, 09:05 PM
It's for fun.

Somewhere, if you want to dig, Ubuntu-Geek posted about it.

bapoumba
November 20th, 2013, 09:17 PM
Moved to the ... Cafe :D
Tada !

Bashing-om
November 20th, 2013, 09:29 PM
cognitive lubricant ?

coffeecat
November 20th, 2013, 09:34 PM
Did someone mention coffee?

MMmmmm... :wink:

PaulW2U
November 20th, 2013, 09:39 PM
I just want to know: "Why coffee?"

Imagine, it's late at night, you can't get something to work and you wondering why you've installed Ubuntu for the 10th time that evening.

What do you do?

Make yet another pot of coffee? :D:D:D

llanitedave
November 20th, 2013, 10:34 PM
I get it, but it just makes me think of Java.

oldos2er
November 21st, 2013, 01:20 AM
Just for fun, really. See http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=239560

t0p
November 21st, 2013, 04:10 AM
I don't know the real reason for the coffee thing, but I've always assumed it's to do with hackers (no, not criminals who use computers - that's not what I'm about), the hackers and other software creators who, according to hacker lore, would drink a lot of coffee or Jolt/Zap/Zing/whatever caffeine-loaded beverage so they could stay awake and get their computer doings done.

Dragonbite
November 21st, 2013, 04:03 PM
It attrracted me (I love coffee) and it fit with the original brown theme.