PDA

View Full Version : [lxde] Aesthetic changes to Lubuntu

nLpPyXR
November 15th, 2013, 09:48 PM
Let me start by saying I'm still very new to Linux in general and Lubuntu 13.10 is my first full-time non-M$ OS. Speaking of M$, back when I was still running Win XP I had the Emerge Desktop Shell which provided some rather neat features such as replacing/relocating the start menu to a right-click on the desktop area, a clock widget/docklet/whatever you wanna call it that also doubled as a command line, and another little widget/docklet/whatever that acted as a notification area replacement.

So... is there an easy way to imitate such a configuration in Lubuntu? I'm talking about replacing LXPanel (I think that's what the "taskbar" is called in Lubuntu anyway) entirely, so that you get the "start button" menu by right-clicking on the desktop, and possibly using a nice Dock to do the rest of the stuff (clock, easy terminal access, notification area etc. etc.)

papibe
November 15th, 2013, 10:35 PM
Hi nLpPyXR.

I can't help you with the details, but here a couple of good sort of information:

Screenshots and details of highly customized desktops (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2185150&highlight=november+screenshot).
How to use conky (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1771033&highlight=conky).

I hope that points you in the right direction.
Regards.

ajgreeny
November 15th, 2013, 10:59 PM
Let me start by saying I'm still very new to Linux in general and Lubuntu 13.10 is my first full-time non-M$ OS. Speaking of M$, back when I was still running Win XP I had the Emerge Desktop Shell which provided some rather neat features such as replacing/relocating the start menu to a right-click on the desktop area, a clock widget/docklet/whatever you wanna call it that also doubled as a command line, and another little widget/docklet/whatever that acted as a notification area replacement.