PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot install 12.04.3 on HP pavillion 15 sleekbook with windows 8

avuuren
November 8th, 2013, 10:19 AM
Computer system: HP Pavilion 15-N076ED

I am not a new linux user. However I am new to windows 8 and UEFI. I bought my new laptop a couple of days ago and was not aware of the fact that on new systems it is more difficult to install ubuntu. First, I used my old LiveDVD that I still had for my old laptop with win7 pre installed. It first gave me a screen in which I had three choices (standard UEFI screen). Both the install and use ubuntu without installation did not work. Making a new LiveDVD did not work either.u
I looked at this website "http:/www.everydaylinuxuser.com/2013/09/install-ubuntu-linux-alongside-windows.html". There are many other websites but I think they are all quite similar. This one seemed most complete and eassest to read. All steps were easy and I had the idea that it should work fine. Howeer, the final results was that nothing changed.

In the UEFI of my HP I changed the followin
Secure boot : disabled.
Secure boot keys: empty.
Legacy mode: enabled.

I changed the boot order for both UEFI and legacy mode though my UEFI said that UEFI boot order always has priority (strange why is there a boot order then for legacy mode anywyas if it never has prioirty even in legacy mode).

I obtain the idea that the computer still uses UEFI mode even with these changes. Why? First, ubuntu still gives me the same screen at start-up (not the somewhat nicer old screen) and maybe more important windows 8 still runs if I take out my liveDVD or liveUSB drive. As far as I know the idea is that windows should not even be able to boot when the computer is in legacy mode.

Is there anyone who could help me? I am a little afraid that it really is a computer specific problem in the end.

fantab
November 8th, 2013, 01:05 PM