PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mouse doesn't work among monitor issues [2560x1440]

sheaty32
November 5th, 2013, 01:28 AM
Hello,

I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm trying to get this working on my system but I'm having a hilarious amount of problems that prevent me from doing any sort of troubleshooting. (I'm posting this on my laptop)

1) How do you install NVIDIA drivers? I believe that if I can just properly install the drivers, all of my problems will be gone. I just need a step-by-step walkthrough.

The BinaryDriverHowTo/NVIDIA help website does not help me. I am not getting any "additional drivers"

[Ignore below this line; this information may be relevant to my solution that's why I kept it]

1) I just installed Ubuntu 13.1 on my SSD. Right now, I have two monitors. One is a Crossover with 2560x1440 resolution connected via DVI-D to my GTX 680. If I boot into Ubuntu, everything works fine. Though, if I do CTRL+ALT+F1, the terminal shows, and if I press CTRL+ALT+F7 to switch back, my main monitor just goes to a black screen and a hard-reset is required to fix the issue. (Pressing CTRL+ALT+F1 does not work. My secondary monitor goes black which means the terminal is on my Crossover, but it just doesn't turn on)

During my own research, I have found various conflicting answers on how to handle this issue. Some say Ubuntu doesn't need the proprietary NVIDIA drivers. Other people are saying that it does. Some people suggest editing some config file in /etc/DX11/ which doesn't even exist for me. I don't know where to get started.

[SOLVED - Seems to happen because of problem 1]) The most annoying issue is that my mouse doesn't seem to work if I do anything outside of the Unity Launcher. I can open apps, click on things when I press my Windows key and search for things. I can also click on the top bar that has time/mail/context menu for rebooting, shutdown, etc. Though, I cannot click *anywhere* else. No desktop. No programs. No browser. Nothing.