PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Problems partitioning hard drive

christopherbrown03
November 4th, 2013, 08:11 PM
Hello,
I am completely new to linux and am just fed up with windows. I am trying to install ubuntu 13.10 but I am having some problems with the installation. When I get to the part where I am to select where to install ubuntu nothing comes up. I assume this is because I have no unallocated space on my hard drive, but I cant seem to shrink the c drive for some reason. When I try, windows says that there isn't enough available space on the drive, but there is definitely enough space. Any help would be appreciated. I did search the forum for this problem, but I didn't really get what they were talking about, so if someone could tell me step-by-step how to do this, I would really appreciate it. here is a screen shot of my disk manager:

Thanks again for any help. Also, I am trying to do a dual boot with windows 8, that is probably important here.

Edit: Also, my hard drive is GPT, so shouldn't I be able to do as many partitions as I want?

ajgreeny
November 4th, 2013, 09:51 PM
Your screenshot from Windows is not very helpful. Can you run the live ubuntu system and get a screenshot from gparted which you will find available on the DVD/USB already, as it gives much more usable info about partition types which is not showing from your picture.

You seem to have a strange assortment of partitions, though the first 5 listed are not even formatted according to Disk-management, but to answer your query; Yes, you can have as many partitions as you are ever likely to need on a GPT partitioned disk

Baffling to me at present, so let's have more info from a "proper" partition-manager (gparted) please.

christopherbrown03
November 4th, 2013, 11:46 PM
Thank you the reply! Sorry it took so long to get this, but here it is: