PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to hide console text on shutdown ubuntu 13.10

mal_skelton
November 2nd, 2013, 02:15 PM
Hello
I've been using Ubuntu for a while but I'm no expert. I recently upgraded to Ubuntu 13.10 from 13.04 on my dual boot win 7 Desktop (x86_64 bit) running on an Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE mbo with Intel i5-3570K 3.40GHz (Ivybridge) Graphics. Ubuntu and Windows are on a partitioned Samsung SSD and I have an ASUS VH242H 24" 1920x1080 resolution monitor. Kernel 3.11.0-12-generic is installed and generally everything is working fine. After upgrading, I'm now getting a brief splash of text appearing just before the white dots when rebooting or shutting down the computer. Is anyone able to explain what these messages mean? Is there anything wrong? Is there anything I can do to hide or to stop these messages (see below) from appearing during reboot or shutdown?

Ubuntu 13.10 buntu ttyl
sid@buntu:~$ sudo halt

Broadcast message from sid@buntu (/dev/ttyl) at 19:41 ...
The system is going down for halt NOW!
sid@buntu:~$ acpid: exiting

Stopping web server apache2

speech-dispatcher disabled; edit /etc/default/speech-dispatcher

Stopping NFS kernel daemon
Unexporting directories for NFS kernel daemon...
Asking all remaining processes to terminate...
All processes ended within 1 seconds...

rpcbind: rpcbind terminating on signal. Restart with “rpcbind -w”

Unmounting temporary filesystems...
Deactivating swap...
Unmounting local filesystems...

mount: / is busy

Will now halt

[14412.320600] mei_me 0000:00:16.0: stop
[14412.321229] reboot: System halted

I've seen that some posts asks for details from /etc/default/grub, so here's what mine looks like:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash elevator=noop"
GRUB_GFXMODE=1280x768x24

Hope you can help, Thanks.

grahammechanical
November 2nd, 2013, 04:18 PM