PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu - Deleting home folder , renaming /home.backup

gauravpuri.bits
October 27th, 2013, 05:42 AM
I am an amateur and I created the ubuntu virtual disk using wubi. Something wrong happened and now my data is completely lost and is stored in a backup folder /home.backup.

The wubi guide https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide suggests me to delete /home and rename /home.backup to /home.
When I try to delete /home it says that the resources are in use and i can't delete. Please help . i have a project submission and i am stuck in middle of nowhere.

Thanks

fantab
October 27th, 2013, 06:33 AM
What version of Ubuntu are you using?

First of all close all the running programs/applications and copy /home.backup to an external device.

Try renaming the present /home folder to /home.bak or /home.old. If it works, then rename /home.backup to /home. And now you can delete /home.bak.

If that doesn't help then boot with Ubuntu DVD/USB, 'Try Ubuntu without installing', open File explorer, plugin the external device on which you have copied /home.backup and rename the folder as /home and access your data.

Hope it helps.

gauravpuri.bits
October 28th, 2013, 07:44 AM
When i try to rename it shows the resource drive in use.

gauravpuri.bits
October 28th, 2013, 07:44 AM
Ubuntu 12.04

fantab
October 28th, 2013, 07:51 AM
If that doesn't help then boot with Ubuntu DVD/USB, 'Try Ubuntu without installing', open File explorer, plugin the external device on which you have copied /home.backup and rename the folder as /home and access your data.

What happens when you do the above?
WUBI is not a real dual-boot. Wubi was meant for windows users to "Try" ubuntu for a longer period of time. But it was meant for trial. Wubi is not being developed actively, hence on the newer versions of Ubuntu WUBI is either not an option or it doesn't work well. It has problems.

I suggest you install Ubuntu to its own partition and set up a true dual boot.

bcbc