PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with installing Ubuntu + removing Windows 7 Starter edition.

Syrassil
October 21st, 2013, 10:28 AM
Hi there!

Let me start off with; I'm a total Ubuntu newbie. In the past, I've used Windows (95, 98, XP, Vista and 7) and Mac OSX 10.4-10.8 as operating systems and I have a little experience as IT helpdesk worker at Apple and a few Windows based companies. However, I've never dabbled in Linux all my life.

The reason why I am considering to make the switch, is because I recently got a new laptop computer (Asus Aspire One 1,6GHz, 1GB RAM, 250GB HDD), which currently runs a Windows 7 Starter edition OS. This, on its own, is terrible, slow and horrendously overclocking my system. So, thinking about a switch, a friend of mine advised me to look into Ubuntu.

Now, I've got a few questions about all of this. I'd love you all immensely if you could help me with this. :)

- Will Ubuntu run fluently on my computer? As said before, it's a Asus Aspire One (1,6GHz, 1GB ram, Intel(R) Atom CPU N450) with 250 HDD space. Next to this, I have a portable 500GB USB-harddrive.

- Is it possible to completely remove Windows 7 Starter and overwrite it with a clean Ubuntu OS? The laptop itself is secondhand, so I'd love to wipe it clean.

- Is it possible to install Ubuntu without a CD drive? The computer is a netbook, and it doesn't have one onboard. I do have a portable USB-harddrive, so that might be something?

I am eagerly awaiting your response! Thank you for reading. :)

fantab
October 21st, 2013, 10:35 AM
Ubuntu runs a bit heavy and only 1GB RAM might prove to be a little slow. Try Xubuntu (http://xubuntu.org/), its Ubuntu with XFCE Desktop or Lubuntu (http://www.lubuntu.net/) which runs LXDE. LXDE is lighter than XFCE and is designed to run with low spec machines, like Netbooks.

You can install it with USB pen drive. And yes you can wipe it clean, just tell the installer to 'erase Windows and install Ubuntu' or 'replace Windows'.