PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install of 13.10 64 freezes at login or there abouts

JTPete
October 19th, 2013, 11:15 PM
Many kind thanks in advance!

I am optimistic as I am getting close to having ubuntu back again. A short history: I have been using ubuntu since 2008 on a home built computer, first as a dual boot but for the last few years as my only operating system. I always used the newest releases and never had a problem running any of them. I built a new computer around the end of July consisting of: Gigabyte Z87X-D3H main board, i7-4770K processor, Asus GeForce GTX 650 Ti, 32 GB GSkill 2133 (pc3 17000) Ripjaws X series 4x8 modules. My attempts at installing 13.04 ended in complete frustration (after an apparent successful install, I could not even get to grub only black screen of death on every boot,). Regretfully I purchased a copy of win 7 pro and that runs fine (this is where I am typing now).

But not to be shut down forever, I tried again with the 13.10 release. First I went into windows disk manager and made sure there was a partition for ubuntu. I proceeded to go through a successful installation of grub and ubuntu on it own partition and a swap space. I rebooted at the point when told to do so and now I get to grub choices cleanly, I can go to windows loader from there or I can go to ubuntu. After loading ubuntu the freezing starts. Sometimes the screen freezes before I can enter my password, sometimes I can enter the password and then it immediately freezes, and sometimes I can get to the desktop and then as soon as I do anything (open terminal, software center, etc.), it freezes.

But I am hopeful. 13.10 is getting me much closer to a working desktop and perhaps someone knows what I can do from here? besides waiting for 14.4...
I will be forever grateful to be back with my beloved ubuntu :-)

JTPete
October 24th, 2013, 12:04 AM