PDA

View Full Version : Technology choice for simple photo manager

frank.bommeli
October 12th, 2013, 05:02 PM
Hi all

I have a hobby project in mind:
a simple photo manager for Ubuntu desktop. (no phone or tablet)

The main feature would require:
- moving, copying files
- renaming files and folder.
- reading, writing exif data from / to jpeg fies.
- generating thumbnails from large original jpeg pictures

I would like to integrate it with Ubuntu i.e.,
- integrated to the launcher
- when connecting my camera I should have the possibility to start my application

These are, I think, the relevant information to the application.

I have problem to make up my mind about which technology I should use.

- I'm a Java developer. Thus I could make the application in Java.

- On the other hand, apparently QML, Javascript and C++ are the recommended way to write apps for Ubuntu, But I know nothing (almost) about these technologies. And I know that it will be extremly time consuming until I can get some results.

- I first thought Python was the way to go on the desktop, but after researching http://developer.ubuntu.com/ I rather got the impression it is deprecated.

Are there other technologies I should consider?

Is there a killing criterion which could help me decide about the technology choice?

Do you have some input to help me decide?

Thanks a lot

tgalati4
October 12th, 2013, 07:28 PM
I would first evaluate the existing applications:

http://lifehacker.com/5877908/the-best-photo-management-app-for-linux

http://www.techradar.com/us/news/software/applications/8-of-the-best-photo-managers-for-linux-692441

Make a list of things that you like and don't like from the existing photo managers.

Pick the one that is closest and then look at the source code and the developer's website and see what development tools are being used.

That's how I would do it.

frank.bommeli
October 13th, 2013, 10:39 AM
Thank your for your replay tgalati4