PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed ubuntu 12.04 on a flash drive using UNetbootin now it says no disk space

rv2
September 14th, 2013, 09:10 PM
I am new to Ubuntu I installed ubuntu onto a flash drive that has 64gb of space on it. It appears to install just fine. A few minutes after I install it starts coming up with messages saying that I only have 153mb of space left. When I look at the mount it knows that it is a 64gb drive. I assume it has something to do with how it is mounting/partitioning the space, but I am not sure. I was looking to install MySQL on there but I cannot because it thinks I have no space. Any help would be very appreciated!

Quackers
September 14th, 2013, 09:14 PM
Welcome to UF.
Did you partition the flash drive before you installed Ubuntu or was it previously partitioned?

Actually, when you say you installed ubuntu do you mean that you used Unetbootin to load the iso on to the flash drive?

rv2
September 14th, 2013, 09:20 PM
Thanks.
It had a single partition on it originally. Unetbootin went through the whole installation, so I am not sure if it created a partition or not.

Quackers
September 14th, 2013, 09:25 PM
I see - I think.
I suspect that you have downloaded an Ubuntu-xxxxxxxxx.iso file and then installed that file to your flash drive with Unetbootin.

If so, all that has happened is that the .iso file is now "burned" to the drive.
Now you need to boot your computer from that flash drive in order to install Ubuntu to your computer's hard drive - if that is your intention.
If that is not your intention please clarify.

rv2
September 14th, 2013, 09:35 PM