PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install Adobe Flash or Chromium

danny10
September 9th, 2013, 03:56 AM
Hello everyone, I am new to Ubuntu. New as in I just downloaded and installed it on my Windows 7 64 Bit machine earlier today, and haven't been able to watch much football because I'm really enjoying exploring the new world. HOWEVER, I'm really frustrated with one thing so far. The Ubuntu Software Center looks simple enough and everything I have tried to install has went without a hitch. EXCEPT I cannot install Adobe Flash or Chromium. It will only say, "package dependices cannot be resolved". Like I said I am new to Ubuntu and Linux. I am very computer literate, I just need some help from someone with experience. I have tried Google with no luck. I have tried installing through the Terminal and still can't get any results. I have also tried Synaptic Package Manager to install them and it didn't have any luck. I have Ubuntu 12.04 LTS everything is up to date (at least it says it is) and all have installed is VLC Media Player and the Ubuntu Restricted Extras and the Synaptic Package Manager. Please anyone who enjoys helping noobs, help me out :)

claracc
September 9th, 2013, 08:17 AM
What are the dependencies problems you are finding?, what are the packages involved?

I understand You have installed ubuntu 12.04 dual boot with windows 7, is it correct?.

I would try to install the pepperflash addon instead the old adobe flash player, following the instructions given in this link:

http://linuxg.net/how-to-install-pepper-flash-for-chromium-on-ubuntu-13-04-12-10-and-12-04-via-ppa/

danny10
September 9th, 2013, 02:16 PM