PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to add Canon LBP2900 printer?

giridhar2
September 7th, 2013, 06:57 PM
I use Ubuntu 13.04 32-bit, on my Intel Core 2 duo Win 7 PC. How can i add my printer : Model - Canon LBP2900 ? I have been searching the internet in vain, for quite sometime. I am a teacher & i need to print my question papers. And, i am tired of Windows 7 & want to give it up slowly...

KIndly help me !! This is urgent !! PLease explain in a way that a person dumb (in Linux, i.e. :) ) would be able to understand.

Thanks in advance,

& Regards.

ibjsb4
September 7th, 2013, 07:12 PM
I do not have any experience with canon, but I did get some forum hits.

http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?cx=006238239194895611142:u-ocqbntw_o&q=Canon+LBP2900&sa=Search&cof=FORID:9

If you need help with trying a fix, please post back :)

giridhar2
September 7th, 2013, 07:31 PM
Hi, Tx for your quick reply !!

But i dont understand what to do with so many links - honestly !!! Will read up & get back. Guess this will take time. Time to be frustrated !! :mad:

giridhar2
September 7th, 2013, 07:58 PM
Followed the post #4 of Sivella in this link given by you : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1982917.

Ubuntu has recognized the printer !! But when test print is given, it shows commuunication error - What to do ??

giridhar2
September 7th, 2013, 08:02 PM
When i give the very fitst command in the post #4 of Sivella, i get this :

Command:
sudo mkdir /var/ccpd

mkdir: cannot create directory ‘/var/ccpd’: File exists

I then continued to give all other commands as given in the post & then ended up with the communication error...

ibjsb4
September 7th, 2013, 11:47 PM
When i give the very fitst command in the post #4 of Sivella, i get this :

Command:
sudo mkdir /var/ccpd

mkdir: cannot create directory ‘/var/ccpd’: File exists

Thats ok

1) Create the following directories/file if they are missing:
sudo mkdir /var/ccpd
sudo mkfifo /var/ccpd/fifo0
sudo mkdir /var/captmon