PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to setup new RAID 1 with existing drive?

momist
September 4th, 2013, 01:48 PM
Hi,

I have a system currently running Lubuntu 13.04 from a SATA HDD. I tend to change flavours often, and I suppose this question would apply to any *buntu flavour.

I have bought a similar SATA3 1TB drive that I want to install in RAID 1 format for security, as the old drive now has 3 bad sectors and is too big for me to back-up. The new drive says it is compatible with SATA 1. The current MoBo, Asus A8V Deluxe, has both a "Promise RAID chipset" which can handle two SATA drives and one Parallel, and "onboard VIA RAID drivers" which can only serve SATA drives, both setup through the BIOS. I'm not sure which I should be using?

Also, should do I need to do anything extra in software, other than using the RAID solution offered by the MoBo?

Thanks for any guidance here, I've never used RAID before.

TheFu
September 4th, 2013, 07:16 PM
RAID is for HA, not backups. A corrupted file will be corrupted faster with RAID. Viruses get written to all disks in a RAID set too. Versioned backups - like 30 days - will probably give the owner enough time to notice the issue and restore from a non-corrupted backup.

Ok, so if you are set on RAID, use Linux software RAID for home. The ability to migrate between distros shouldn't be an issue. I've done it from 8.04 to 10.04 and to different machines with the same external array. I do NOT use RAID on the / partition. Booting under RAID used to be an issue and with good backups, it becomes a non-issue.

Do not use the RAID capability of the MB - even if you can. Fake-RAID sucks. It ties your storage to the hardware, just like a dedicated RAID card does. For a home, hardware RAID is probably too expensive, since a quality RAID card is $300+. Plus, if you are tied to any controller hardware, you won't be able to move the disks to new hardware easily.