PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu booting problems

giridhar2
August 27th, 2013, 06:35 PM
Core 2 duo, 2 GB RAM, windows 7 PC.

Installed iso file and pendrive installation file. Successfully selected the iso file from pendrive. In the BIOS, i changed USB drive to primary boot device. It started booting but it is stuck. Kindly see the picture attached and advice please. I am not good at installing OS and am not a tech geek at all. Kindly explain in a way u wud,to a dumb person. Thank you in advance!

PS: please pardon if i posted n the wrong section.

GwL3eNC
August 27th, 2013, 08:50 PM
Hello,

i dont understand you completely. what means Successfully selected the iso file from pendrive? On which system have you created the bootabe pendrive?
Windows? Have you done it like this http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows

giridhar2
August 28th, 2013, 05:22 AM
Hello,

i dont understand you completely. what means Successfully selected the iso file from pendrive? On which system have you created the bootabe pendrive?
Windows? Have you done it like this http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows

These are the files i downloaded: Universal-USB-Installer-1.9.3.9 which i clicked and installed on my USB. I selected "ubuntu-12.04.3-desktop-i386" from my Hard Drive on PC and clicked 'create' button. It completed the process. I went to BIOS and changed the boot option to be able to boot from USB as the primary BOOT device. I saw the purple screen even, with those white dots. Then screen changed to black and ended with what i have attached here.

Hope i am clear to you. I need help. Please ask any details you might need to resolve this problem. Tx a ton for your reply !!

Regards

giridhar2
August 28th, 2013, 05:34 AM
I would like to add that i am not installing ubuntu on my hard drive as i want to try using ubuntu...

giridhar2
August 29th, 2013, 07:52 AM