PDA

View Full Version : Upgrades are not being done as expected

Abaminog
August 21st, 2013, 09:47 PM
Hello,

I have Ubuntu 13.04 installed on my laptop. I am quite new to Ubuntu but previously had some limited experience with Linux.

Here is the issue...

When I log in under my user name (the first user created on the system, admin account), the 'welcome' message says:

"Welcome to Ubuntu 13.04 (GNU/Linux 3.8.0-27-generic x86_64)

* Documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/

10 packages can be updated.
10 updates are security updates.
.................................................. ........................"

It's not always "10 packages", sometimes it's zero, sometimes 1, 5 etc. But today it's 10.

Then I run "sudo apt-get update". It does the work and says at the end:

"..................................................
Fetched 1,129 kB in 2s (438 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done"

Then I run "sudo apt-get upgrade". It goes:

"Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
linux-generic linux-headers-generic linux-image-generic linux-signed-generic linux-signed-image-generic
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded."

So, basically I end up with no packages upgraded despite there being a 'welcome' message saying that 10 packages can be updated with all of them being security updates. If I log out and log back in again, the welcome message would still say "10 packages".

Can please someone explain to me why what I am doing wrong and why the packages don't get upgraded as intended. I believe over the last couple weeks it was ok, i.e. if I saw a note that some packages could be updated and I ran update/upgrade in sequence, that used to do the job. Not any more it seems.

Thank you!

plucky
August 21st, 2013, 10:30 PM
The following packages have been kept back: