PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Read Error before first boot after installing ubuntu 12.04 LTS

Vixx_Daru
August 20th, 2013, 07:34 PM
I am not new to Ubuntu, though I am not an expert either. I am a casual Ubuntu user, learning few things whenever a problem arises. I have been using Ubuntu for 5 years and I am a regular visitor at UbuntuForums and I am very grateful to all the answers I found here all these years. I never found it necessary to start a new thread here as all my problems got solved in other already available threads. I found the solutions for each and every problem I got in the phase of upgrading my Ubuntu from 9.10 to 13.04 and back to 12.04. I am very grateful for such a great help from U. Thanks a lot.

But, I have come up with a strange problem recently with my Ubuntu installation. I have been trying to solve it for 3 days continuous, but not able to solve it. So, I am posting this new thread with my specific problem. I don't know whether anyone else gone through this problem before. Please help me....

I am using a HP laptop with....

Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM.
Ubuntu 12.04 as my base OS.
320gb HDD
disk partitions :

root (i.e., /)
home (i.e., /home)
swap area

I was using Ubuntu 12.04 for a while and everything was working fine. One evening when I started my system, there was boot time error:
error: hd0 out of disk

As I was having a separate partition for my root (/) and being sure there won't be any data loss, the very first thought I got was to do a fresh install, so I put a live USB and installed Ubuntu 12.04. I came up with the same error again. Then I started doing my research on different ubuntu forums including this one trying every solution suggested.
After doing a few more re-installations, I came up with different errors:

once:
error: hd0 out of disk
grub rescue>

some other time:
error: you need to load a kernel first

some other time:
grub>

some other time:
GRUB MENU