PDA

View Full Version : What's the biggest ( baddest ) supported Nvidia card that i can get..??

jason.b.c
July 16th, 2006, 08:19 AM
I found a preaty good list of what i guess to be all of the linux supported Nvidia cards on the market but none of them seem to have much better than a 256 mb's frame buffer. :confused:

ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-8762/README/appendix-a.html

What about the big honkin' one's..??? Big megahertz, big mb's buffers , and so on...

:D :D

jason.b.c
July 16th, 2006, 07:34 PM
Anyone know this..?? :-k

K.Mandla
July 16th, 2006, 07:37 PM
I used Breezy and Dapper on a Dell XPS M170 with a 7800GTX and everything worked like a charm. But beyond that, I can't help. :rolleyes:

angkor
July 16th, 2006, 08:23 PM
What about the big honkin' one's..??? Big megahertz, big mb's buffers , and so on...
:D :D

Hrm I always thought all nvidia cards were supported. I found this list for supported card for their latest linux drivers. My guess (I'm no expert at all!) that the 7900GTX is the best one on the list.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_18897.html

The only card I found on their site that is not on the list is the GeForce 7950GX2 and that is just a crazy card if you ask me. :):)

http://www.nvidia.com/page/geforce_7950.html

jason.b.c
July 16th, 2006, 09:26 PM
The only card I found on their site that is not on the list is the GeForce 7950GX2 and that is just a crazy card if you ask me. :):)

http://www.nvidia.com/page/geforce_7950.html

Wholy crap..!!! Is that one by any chance supported in ubuntu..??? Wow.! , I could just imagine...:mrgreen:

WildTangent
July 16th, 2006, 11:16 PM
I have a Geforce 7950 GX2 arriving in about a week. It is supported (shows up as two 7900GTXs). Cost me $550 CAD, which is actually less than what I originally paid for my 7800 GTX. Go figure.

-Wild

mech7
July 16th, 2006, 11:19 PM
Why would you want a card like that on ubuntu ? you can hardly use it :-k These are gaming cards

WildTangent