PDA

View Full Version : My First Linux Install

TravScrog
August 9th, 2013, 10:28 PM
Well, I'm new to this whole shin-dig. I have a MacBook Pro 7,1 and I am going to attempt to install Ubuntu 12.0.4.2 on it.

My question is, since there are newer versions available, will Linux allow me to update straight to those after I do the initial install? Or do I need to download the newer version?

My only other question is about https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacBookPro - it only shows 12.10 as being supported (not 12.04). So, will I be able to update to this if I install 12.04? Will 12.04 even install? If not, where can I download 12.10?

Thanks,

Travis

Netstatus
August 9th, 2013, 11:23 PM
First of all: welcome to this shin-dig!

My question is, since there are newer versions available, will Linux allow me to update straight to those after I do the initial install? Or do I need to download the newer version?
This should answer it: http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/linux-and-open-source/upgrading-ubuntu-1204-to-1210/

My only other question is about https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacBookPro - it only shows 12.10 as being supported (not 12.04). So, will I be able to update to this if I install 12.04? Will 12.04 even install? If not, where can I download 12.10?
I doubt that if 12.10 is supported, 12.04 will work much worse. I'm quite certain you'd at the very least be able to install 12.04.

Netstatus
August 9th, 2013, 11:28 PM
Keep in mind that Ubuntu 12.04 is a long-term support release (it will be supported until April 2017), while 12.10 will be supported for a shorter duration (18 months, I believe)

BlinkinCat
August 9th, 2013, 11:30 PM
This - https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Releases

shows that 12.04.2 is a LTS release with support to April, 2017

Cheers - :)

TravScrog
August 10th, 2013, 02:43 AM