PDA

View Full Version : Switching from windows

david40
August 8th, 2013, 08:51 PM
Currently, I'm a windows programmer and do it all for free(just a hobby ;]). I know vb.net, c#, xna, html, and I'm learning c++. I loved vb.net, with it's basic syntax, ease of use, and support with MSDN's documentation. I was doing quite a bit with xna and vb.net, I actually created a 2d tile based map engine with 0 slow down(with the exception of the initial load). But Microsoft screwed me when they decided to stop supporting XNA and I decided that's that. I've decided to switch to Unix. Before I do so, I want to know which is best for me. I want to continue programming, but more specifically I want to keep game programming. What do y'all suggest?

Edit - Also, what kind of programming languages are out there for unix? From what I've read, it was written in C, but to be honest I hate languages that you have end a line statement with a semi-colon.

King Dude
August 9th, 2013, 12:45 AM
Welcome to the Linux (not Unix) community.

If you'd like to program applications for Linux, I suggest C++, Java, or Python for a primary programming language. If you learn C++, you may also learn Python or Lua as a secondary language to extend your C++ code. If you'd like to enhance the Linux kernel itself, you'd have to learn Assembly and C. If you'd like to program runtimes, I suggest learning Python and Perl. If you'd like to help with open source graphics driver support, I suggest C and/or C++.

lisati
August 9th, 2013, 01:27 AM
Thread moved to Programming Talk.

kalaharix
August 9th, 2013, 10:49 AM
Hi

If you want to use your vb experience try Gambas 3 (free) and PureBasic (commercial but very reasonable). PureBasic is favoured by gamers for its speed but is a very different kind of Basic. Xojo in the repository is a re-incarnation of RealBasic which then turned into Real Studio. Free to try but expensive to distribute and I suspect more than a little wip.

l3dx
August 9th, 2013, 11:34 AM