PDA

View Full Version : no idea how to partition correctly...

jessica2
August 4th, 2013, 08:44 AM
I'm a complete noob. I want to install Ubuntu on my ASUS Zenbook UX31E but I don't know how to partition windows7/ubuntu...I have a 128gb ssd and 4gb ram.

Say I won't be using Windows *that* often...only for Adobe work pretty much. Should I have three partitions? One for Windows, one for ubuntu, one for files? And what the heck is swap and root and home?!

I don't want to mess up.

Help!!

amra.sonntag2
August 4th, 2013, 09:08 AM
Having the three partitions you mentioned seems reasonable. Remember to make your data partition for files with the NTFS filesystem. That way you will be able to read it from both operating systems.

For your other question you need to understand the linux filesystem a little. But lets just say, that root ( / ) is the base of the file system. You can make one partition for root and your Ubuntu will work fine with that. In root you have the home folder ( /home ), where usally user data and settings are stored. It isn't a bad idea to create a partition for it, because than your data and settings are seperated from the main operating system. If you ever have to upgrade/reinstall, you will be able to do so on the root partition and keep your data and settings by reusing the /home partition in the new installation.

Linux uses a swap partition if your system runs out of RAM. How often it is used and how much swap you need depends on what you do with your machine. In case you want to use hibernate, you should however have as much swap as RAM, since hibernation writes your RAM onto the swap partition. Given that you "only" have 128 gb disc space, you might not want to create that big a swap partition.

Topsiho
August 4th, 2013, 10:03 AM