PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "GUI" stopped running after upgrade

Jacob_Butcher
August 3rd, 2013, 09:56 PM
I'm running Ubuntu 12.04 on my server.

A few days ago I ran "apt-get upgrade". Everything seemed fine.
Today my server rebooted. (I don't know why, but it's usually a power outage that outlasts my UPS.)

Now the server doesn't run the GUI at startup. Nor does it run a shell.
It just lists out a series of services it's starting (apache, ssh, etc) and stops.
I can ssh into the server and all the external services seem fine.
But no GUI, no shell.

I believe I was running gdm. I reinstalled it, but that didn't help.

I don't really understand all the moving parts needed to get a GUI running, though there seem to be a lot of them. I'd be happy to answer any questions that might help narrow down the problem.

(I'm a software engineer, if that makes any difference. Not the sysadmin kind, obviously.)

Thanks!
Jacob

jmccarron
August 12th, 2013, 04:37 PM