PDA

View Full Version : C Programming Advice

drmrgd
July 19th, 2013, 12:42 PM
Out of boredom and for fun, I would like to starting working with some low level programming. The question is, which is a better path: C or C++? I know the root of the answer always lies in 'what do you plan to do with the language', but not being a programmer for a living (I'm a biologist), it's a bit hard to answer. For the majority of what I do, Perl and / or Python is more than sufficient, and my comfort level with those languages (more so Perl than Python) is high enough that I can usually cobble together a script to do whatever I need. At this point, though, I'd like to start working with a low level language to do some more complex tasks and to handle the hardware a little more intimately as much of the data I process is very large (it's not uncommon to have to process files that are several GB in size). To really benefit what I do, I probably should focus more on mastering Python and learning Javascript, Jquery, etc. But, I kind of want to do something a little different and fun.

Many, many moons ago in college, I took an introductory course to C++, and looking over snippets on the web I do recognize a lot of the syntax, although I'm so rusty that starting over wouldn't be a big concern of mine. I didn't realize there was such a big difference until I started digging in and learned that there are a lot more features and syntax differences in C++ that make it slightly (significantly?) different than straight up C (although I would imagine the transition is as minimal as American English to British English).

Probably 99% of the time I'm working in a Linux environment, and so portability is not a major concern. However, I would like it (especially if I develop some really useful tools) to be able to run these programs in both a Linux and Windows environment. I haven't researched this, but I have a feeling like this is a complete non-issue. Any advice on that aspect?