PDA

View Full Version : Laptop buying

DisappearingOak
July 9th, 2013, 09:22 AM
hi, so been looking to buy a laptop this month but all the information online seems confusing, especially about linux support.

i'm new to laptops, only having used desktops before, so pointers would be helpful. i've read that lenovo/ibm laptops are better than dell, asus, hp so i'm leaning towards those. but i need everything functioning correctly under linux. but my budget is somewhat limited since i recently bought a desktop and i'm frugal too. i can spend 500 usd= 25000 indian money.

my needs are - should be able to handle many firefox tabs, heavy flash games, would be nice if it was powerful to handle accurate snes games with real high hq filters, don't do any other gaming otherwise. i plan to run ubuntu so intel? maybe 3rd gen? i would like nice display and build and don't mind slightly lower specs to get it.

if a pc box (like a ready to use tower system without monitor) with great specs can be had for cheaper like 400dollars cheap, please recommend some also.

thanks

mips
July 9th, 2013, 10:15 AM
Your best bet is to find a few laptops you like and then to go google linux compatibility for that specific model to see what other peoples experiences are.

In the mean time have a browse here,
http://www.ubuntu.com/certification/desktop/
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport/Machines/Laptops?action=show&redirect=HardwareSupportMachinesLaptops
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/ThinkWiki
http://www.linux-laptop.net/

911insidejob
July 9th, 2013, 10:26 PM
I bought a $300 Gateway at Best Buy. Walmart had the same one for $330 with a slightly larger hard disk. Dual core but it's the latest generation, so it runs faster and cooler than the older dual cores, also has the new UEFI BIOS. Disabled secure boot and let Ubuntu blow Windows 8 away. Works great! I couldn't get dual boot to work though, plus preinstalled version of Win8 had MP4 playback crippled, so just Linux on it.

mastablasta