PDA

View Full Version : Dual Boot from 2 hard drives?

Langney
July 8th, 2013, 06:21 PM
Hello. I'm just wondering if anyone could help me regarding this matter. I've dual booted before on a single hard drive but I'm wondering how i would go about dual booting from 2 seperate hard drives as I'm going to be using one of them for Winedows 7 and the other for Ubuntu 12.04. Trouble is i'm a real noob when it comes to manually setting things up in G-parted. I'm just wondering If anyone has a guide or a link to an Idiot proof guide so I can Install Ubuntu onto my other hard drive without borking everything.

Thank you In advance

Langney

ajgreeny
July 8th, 2013, 08:38 PM
Install windows first onto the first disk.

When you install ubuntu choose "Something else" at partitioning stage and then you will get the option to install the bootloader (grub) to the disk of your choosing. You should choose the same disk as ubuntu is installed to, making sure grub goes onto the root of the device, ie, /dev/sdb and not to /dev/sdb1 or other numbered partition.

Now at boot time if you have the first disk as priority device the machine will boot straight to windows, as that disk will have the windows bootloader system. If you give the second disk boot priority, the grub menu should appear giving you the option of ubuntu or windows.

I am trying to find an up-to-date installation instruction website with pictures to help, but at the moment I can't find one; perhaps you will have more luck.

Mark Phelps
July 8th, 2013, 09:14 PM
I generally recommend having only one disk connected when you install an OS. While it's not necessary, it prevents the situation where you accidentally write boot loader files to the wrong disk -- and then have repair to do to get that other OS booting again.

IF only the "Ubuntu drive" is connected during the install, there is no risk of writing GRUB to the wrong drive.

After Ubuntu installation, do the following:
1) Reconnect the "windows drive"