PDA

View Full Version : Questions about python and Ubuntu :)

gigasea
July 8th, 2013, 08:13 AM
I have a few questions, about Ubuntu and python

1. What parts of Ubuntu are programmed in Python? i know most of it would be written in C(kernel, drivers and low level things) and or C++(GUI?, applications?), but ive noticed that the installer used python scripts to handle parts of the installation process and i have also noticed wubi, which is the windows installer uses python scripts as-well :)
correct me if im wrong :)

2. is it possible to do driver programming in Python with Ubuntu?

3. what are some cool IDES you recommenced

Please note im a newbie at GNU/Linux and Ubuntu in general so no hate alright? i love GNU/Linux because everything works so beautifully and smooth on my intel atom notebook which windowzs runs horrible on lol :)

Thanks
- Gigasea

nvteighen
July 8th, 2013, 12:59 PM

1. What parts of Ubuntu are programmed in Python? i know most of it would be written in C(kernel, drivers and low level things) and or C++(GUI?, applications?), but ive noticed that the installer used python scripts to handle parts of the installation process and i have also noticed wubi, which is the windows installer uses python scripts as-well :)
correct me if im wrong :)

Well, there are a couple of things that are written in Python: the update-manager, Alacarte, the Bazaar VCS, installation scripts, parts of GIMP, etc. "apt-cache rdepends python" shows a lot of stuff that depends on it; take a look at that list.

2. is it possible to do driver programming in Python with Ubuntu?