PDA

View Full Version : New to linux but understand the basics

Rivertune
July 6th, 2013, 03:47 AM
So I have been messing around with ubuntu for some time now and I understand the basics installing packages and navagation via terminal
I was wonder where I guess the linux vets would go from there on expanding and learning more and more? sorry in advance if this has been posted a millon times lol rather new to the forums thanks in advance!

cariboo
July 6th, 2013, 04:37 AM
See as this question has nothing to do with the forum, moved to the Cafe.

tgalati4
July 6th, 2013, 04:42 AM
Check out the NewDocs link in my signature. Over 1,000 pages of reading to get you started.

coldraven
July 6th, 2013, 08:54 AM
You could read this free magazine (pdf), something might interest you. You could even contribute your own experiences.
http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

Erik1984
July 6th, 2013, 10:17 AM
Not that I am a Linux expert in any way but most things I just learned by doing something and Googling for help (and sometimes ask on the forums). Is there anything you might want to write a script for? That could be a great start for learning more about Linux and especially about shell scripting.

stalkingwolf
July 6th, 2013, 03:45 PM
for me figuring out how to do things i want to do is a never ending learning experience especially when it changes with a new lts.

farrinux
July 6th, 2013, 06:30 PM
You could read this free magazine (pdf), something might interest you. You could even contribute your own experiences.
http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

A very good source for info ^. Also try OSAlt by nixie pixel on you tube. Last but not least OMG ubuntu and Webup8, These are good sources for learning things in Ubuntu and linux in general.

Paqman
July 6th, 2013, 06:39 PM
I was wonder where I guess the linux vets would go from there on expanding and learning more and more?