PDA

View Full Version : Problems with 13.04 (xubuntu and ubuntu)

Krupski
July 5th, 2013, 05:05 PM
Hi all,

I've been using Linux (Ubuntu) since 2008 and know my way around it rather well.

Now, for my problem. I tried to install XUBUNTU 13.04 (64 bit) on the same machine that has run almost all previous versions. I had a wide range of problems (and different ones each time). Either the install would not complete, or it would complete but not finish booting, or it would seem to work, but lock up shortly after starting.

Here's the hardware I'm having trouble with:

Intel DQ45GB motherboard
Intel Q9650 Quad core 3.00 GHz. LGA775 cpu
NVidia GTX560Ti video card
8 GB memory (4X2 gb) DDR2 - PC6400 - 800 MHz - 6-6-6-18 timing, 1.8v (running at 2.1v)
SATA hard drives and SATA DVD/BD read/writer

Now, before anyone suggests checking ram or anything else, be aware that the machine runs PERFECTLY FINE with 12.10 64 bit (as well as every version previous to that).

I tried XUBUNTU 64 bit and UBUNTU 64 bit (version 13.04) and both had the same problems.

I also tried installing from a DVD burned from an ISO and from a USB stick.

I tried re-downloading the ISO files. The MD5 sums were correct.

I even took the XUBUNTU disk that I burned and made an ISO back out of it. The MD5 was the same (i.e. the disk is not flawed).

Anyone have any ideas on what to do or what to try? I would like to keep current with Ubuntu (XUbuntu), but for now I'm "stuck" with 12.10 because 13.04 doesn't work on my machine.

Any help will be appreciated!

-- Roger

Bashing-om
July 5th, 2013, 06:43 PM
Krupski; Hi ...

Here is a thought... 13.04 does not have the graphics drivers for that Nvidia card readily available...
what results when attempting to boot from the boot menu with "nomodeset" as a paramater ?
(installing 13.04 -Lubuntu -> Nvidia graphics, I had to use the "nomodeset" option to get it to install)

just try'n to help

Krupski
July 6th, 2013, 03:44 AM
Krupski; Hi ...