PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed With Install of 13.04 on AMD Architecture

jakacitizenoftheearth
June 30th, 2013, 07:41 PM
I have been having a horrible time trying to install a linux distro. I just can't seem to get it up and running. I was having trouble with Ubuntu 12.04 ( http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2154486 ), and decided to do a slow write over both my hdd and my ssd, I then just installed 13.04 on the ssd. I was unable to get online during install, so I only have whatever came with the install .iso (from bootable USB created on another Linux computer.) At the moment I have a black screen with a login prompt. I do not know how to go about setting up my Internet/ finishing the install/ and then installing wireless/ graphic drivers. I figured I would use this as a starting point, since there is literally no other files that can be causing issues, and it it should be easier for someone to walk me through step by step. I am new to Linux, and to the terminal, so please be detailed. I have done over 200 hours or research, and I am learning as I go, but by no means do I know what I am doing. I am grateful for any help.

My system:
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/images/cleardot.gif

Hardware:
VGA ASUS HD 7770-2GD5 2Gb Ram
8Gbx2-GSkill F3-1866c10D-16Gb Ram

128 GB Samsung SSD
HDD 3Tb Toshiba DT01ACA300
CPU-AMD-8Core-FX-8320-3.5G-8M-R
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Asus PCE-N10 Wireless-N Network Adapter (150 Mbs Transmit/Recieve) PCI-E interface-WPS
ASUS Vs228-H-P 22-Inch Full-HD 2ms LED-Lit LCD Monitor

My OS:

Ubuntu 13.04 installed from bootable USB, offline during install, checked "install third party software box," installed on entire 120GB SSD using automatic install (vs. advanced).

*Update: July-18-2013 With lots of help I have a wired connection up. See the last few threads for details. Here is the link that Bashing-om found that worked for me:
"Re: Unable to get the RTL8111E working