PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] installation drive partitioning with multiple existing NTFS partitions

codenameSQL
June 28th, 2013, 07:59 PM
Hi guys,
Absolute newbie here (which will likely be quite obvious). I have conducted multiple searches of this forum and could not find an answer to this drive partitioning question.

I'm running on the Lubuntu 13.04 live CD as I type. Seems to run better than fine, even from the CD. I have an older XP machine with Intel P4 on which I want to install. My question concerns the drive partitioning. When I try to do an auto install, I'm given a slider to select the size of the Buntu partition. Well, my main drive already has three NTFS partitions and the slider/install doesn't show those existing partitions, but only the two sides of the slider which increase/decrease moving left to right and vice versa. So, I stopped the install and came here.

So, I guess my question is, do I need to use a tool such as Easus to resize/create a new partition for Lubuntu? If so, then how do I bypass the slider and tell it to install to that new partition?

Or will the slider option create a new partition WITHOUT destroying the existing multiple partitions? If so, is there a way to specify which one of the existing partitions to resize? I'm sure it works perfectly if the drive only has one existing partition, but with three -- seemed more prudent to ask for assistance prior to causing myself some major grief..

Hope this made sense.
Thanks!
Dave

Mark Phelps
June 28th, 2013, 09:17 PM
Using the slider has an unfortunate history of corrupting Windows -- but that has happened primarily with Vista, Win7, and Win8. I don't know that will happen with XP.