PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mod-P not bound at startup in XMonad Gnome



lmullen
June 28th, 2013, 01:30 AM
I've set up Xmonad with Gnome using the standard packages in the Ubuntu repository. I only have one custom Xmonad configuration file, xmonad.hs, which I've included below. When I login, Mod-P is not bound to the Gnome application launcher, as it should be. In order to get Mod-P to launch applications, I have to run the command
xmonad --restart. After that it works fine.

This problem is similar to the thread here (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13965699/xmonad-dmenu-not-launching-spawning-on-startup), except he was using dmenu instead of the the Gnome application launcher, and it doesn't seem like the problem was solved.

What should I do?

Here is my xmonad.hs; it's pretty standard.


import XMonad
import XMonad.Config.Gnome
import XMonad.Util.EZConfig
import XMonad.Hooks.ManageHelpers

main = xmonad $ gnomeConfig { -- We use gnome rather than default
modMask = mod4Mask -- Use super key for mod
, workspaces = myWorkspaces
, manageHook = myManageHook
} `additionalKeysP` myKeys

myWorkspaces = ["1", "2", "3", "4", "5", "6", "7", "8", "9:web"]

myKeys = [
-- Instead of killing window manager, log out
("M-S-q", spawn "gnome-session-quit")
]

myManageHook = composeAll [
manageHook gnomeConfig
, (className =? "Gnome-panel" <&&> title =? "Run Application") --> doCenterFloat
, (className =? "sublime-text-2" <&&> title =? "Open File") --> doCenterFloat
, (className =? "Empathy") --> doFloat
, (resource =? "Dialog") --> doFloat
]

kevang2
August 20th, 2013, 12:15 PM
Same problem here with Ubuntu 12.04 and this xmonad.hs: https://github.com/texttheater/.xmonad/blob/master/xmonad.hs

kevang2
August 23rd, 2013, 02:06 PM
I found a workaround. Adding the Win+p key binding directly works for me without restarting xmonad. My modified xmonad.hs is here: https://github.com/texttheater/.xmonad/blob/master/xmonad.hs

kevang2
November 27th, 2013, 10:48 AM
I found a workaround. Adding the Win+p key binding directly works for me without restarting xmonad. My modified xmonad.hs is here: https://github.com/texttheater/.xmonad/blob/master/xmonad.hs

I may have tricked myself into believing that this works, on further inspection it seems it doesn't. Sorry.

In other news, I didn't have this bug in Ubuntu 13.04 on my home machine, but since I upgraded to 13.10 it appeared there as well. :-x