PDA

View Full Version : Making a custom Ubuntu for SAT a good idea? Pls do read the intro!

TheDJ0014
June 27th, 2013, 06:17 AM
Hey guys i am currently a student in India. I will prepare for SAT s and its Indian equivalents(quite a bit of my effort and time goes here) in the coming future. But the thing is I really love Linux and felt like making my own via opensuse, Linux from scratch etc but i am afraid it will take to much of my time. Then it occurred to me will a custom Linux/Ubuntu give me that shine when they go through my application for college? I will get a decent score like 2100+.
If anyone thinks it helps i was aiming to mix backtrack/Kali with Ubuntu which should be the real challenge or something like that which should make me stand out.

So what are your views and give some suggestions even if you don't think its a good idea and yeah please suggest fast as i have to convince my parents its worth it :)

SirGuineaPig
June 27th, 2013, 07:26 AM
Do you want to make this new distro entirely from scratch? It takes lots and LOTS of programming experience and technical knowledge to even try such a project.
Here's an article on budding OS development:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/627095/can-a-whole-operating-system-be-written-without-using-even-one-line-of-c-c-cod

And here's one of Linux distro development:
http://www.tuxradar.com/content/how-build-your-own-linux-distro

I'm not trying to be discouraging, but unless you have extensive programming knowledge, don't even bother trying.

mastablasta
June 27th, 2013, 07:36 AM
what exactly do you plan to achieve by mixing the two? as i understand backtrakc was already based on ubutnu there is backbox os or something like that that is like Kali only ubuntu based. i am not sure what you really plan to do. remaster Ubuntu? create yet another ubuntu based distro? or what?

Paqman
June 27th, 2013, 08:35 AM