PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing the package 6b1-2ubuntu1

EskenderTamrat
June 26th, 2013, 02:55 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Ubuntu and when I try working on opencv, it doesn't capture my webcams. When I search for the reason, I look that maybe its because I didn't install some packages. So, when I try to install them, I got a message as follows for the package 6b1-2ubuntu1

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package 6b1-2ubuntu1

Any suggestion how can I solve this problem?

My machine specification - Ubuntu 12.04, 64-bit, opencv2.4.5.

Thanks,
Eskender

dino99
June 26th, 2013, 05:44 PM
opencv2.4.5 is not a genuine ubuntu package (https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/opencv)

all the apps you need are already inside the ubuntu archives; install them with either "apt-get" or "synaptic" or "software-center"

it can be also compile by yourself if you need the very latest release : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenCV

EskenderTamrat
June 27th, 2013, 07:15 AM
Thanks for the reply.

So, where does that leaves me? My webcams are recognized by other packages. (eg: cheese webcam booth). But, Opencv codes to compute the capturing of cameras keeps telling me there is no camera detected. btw, they are different kinds (INTEX IT-310WC and INTEX IT-309WC). But, still opencv can't detect any of them (either individually plugged or both at a time). I was hoping to compute a pointcloud from my stereovision data.

steeldriver
June 27th, 2013, 09:44 AM
Your title is confusing - afaik '6b1-2ubuntu1' isn't a package it's a package version - what actual package are you trying to locate (like libjpeg62-dev or libv4l-dev)?

What exact "Opencv codes to compute the capturing of cameras" are you using and what error does it give when it tries to connect?

EskenderTamrat
June 27th, 2013, 02:06 PM
The package which brought unmet dependency is libjpeg62-dev