PDA

View Full Version : My new system76 gazelle value laptop

newlinux
July 14th, 2006, 03:51 PM
My gazelle-value laptop from www.system76.com arrived yesterday. I'm going to share first impressions and then as I play with it more I'll add more. I would be happy to answer questions for those interested.

Background:

I am new to Ubuntu - I just installed it dual boot on my home desktop in June, but I committed myself to the Linux and Ubuntu way of doing things. I'm not sure what took me so long to go Linux, as I've being saying I'd do it for a while, but here I am.

Anyway, I needed a new laptop, and I thought it would be nice to get one without windows, and just install Ubuntu. Then after some searches I found system76, which was shipping with dapper, and the prices were reasonable. I asked a couple of questions in the system76 forum and the staff answered them quickly, and support seemed good, so I ordered the gazelle. My specs:

Celeron M 380 1.6 GHz 1MB 400FSB
12.1” Widescreen WXGA (1280X800)
60 GB 5400 RPM
1GB DDR RAM
11.92" x 8.85" x 1.10" (W x D x H)
It has a network card, wireless a/b/g, and bluetooth
A SD/MMC reader
DVD-RW (Dual Layer)/CD-RW

I plan on using this for travel and home.

First Impressions:

It took 3 weeks from when I ordered it to when I received it. Part of this delay was supposedly due to a shortage of Celerons. When the laptop was delayed I received an email letting me know for how long and why.
The laptop was boxed and protected really well.
It looks basic but nice. My wife really liked the display (she has a Dell 12") and remarked how much better it looked. Don't know how she has it configured though.
The package came with a manual whiched seemed to be geared towards users with windows installed. Not a big deal for me as after glancing at it, I quickly tossed it away.
It came with a restore DVD, and a quick start sheet for those new to Ubuntu

Things I noted on first use:

Boots up quick. Screen looks great.