PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Only blank desktop and cursor after installation

Dippmopser
June 19th, 2013, 08:48 PM
Hello,

I just installed Ubuntu for the first time.

The installationprocess went smoothly as far as I can tell, however after booting for the first time and entering my credentials, I only see, what I guess is a blank desktop and a mouse-cursor.

I can move around the cursor and that's basically it.

I searched a little and found this thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1499329

I guess this is my problem as well. Since I am new to Linux, could someone please tell me, how I "add 'gnome-panel' and 'compiz' to the Startup menu [System->Preferences->Startup Applications] while in safe mode"?

I already figured out, how to enter safe mode (grub says recovery mode - I hope that is what I am looking for), thereafter I am presented with some options, those being:

resume Resume normal boot
clean Try to make free space
dpkg Repair broken packages
failsafeX Run in failsafe graphic mode
fsck Check all file systems
grub Update grub bootloader
networt Enable networking
root Drop to root shell prompt
system-summary System summary

A litte help what to to do from here on would be really nice.

Regards
Dippmopser

mjrich1976
June 20th, 2013, 12:56 AM
It's possible that you installed the server edition instead of the desktop edition. I made that mistake the first time I did it as well. Do you know specifically what you installed?

grahammechanical
June 20th, 2013, 05:57 PM
What makes you think that that thread applies to your machine? How old is your hardware? When you say a "blank desktop," is there a background image? Can you right click the desktop? Do you see a menu? Select Change Desktop Background. That will open System Settings>Appearance. By the way, it is also helpful if you tell us what version of Ubuntu you are using. There is a new version every six months and they way things are done are being changed over time.