PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Data loss after 12.04 installation

lablouw
June 17th, 2013, 11:37 AM
I'm not a great expert in Ubuntu but here's my predicament: A few weeks ago my old version of Ubuntu (can't remember which version) with encrypted home folder informed me that it was officially no longer supported and I should upgrade. I started the process which failed half way (stalled indefinitely). After resetting all I could get was a blinking mouse cursor. So I downloaded 12.04 LTS, and installed from CD. When prompted I chose the option that stated something along the lines of "Install 12.04 over previous version of Ubuntu" and NOT "Wipe the system and do a fresh installation". After installation and reboot my home directory was that of a fresh install! All my documents and tons of code gone! I am currently running TestDisk from my windows partition but it's not looking promising.

My ubuntu partition was not one I frequented as of late and all I know is my password. Thankfully I still have the latest compiled jar files of my java projects which as a last resort I could decompile, fix up and go back to much older backups to re-insert comments (quite complicated code). If I could just have my working projects direcory back (~/home/NetbeansProjects) I would be happy.

Can anyone please help?

darkod
June 17th, 2013, 12:30 PM
Unfortunately, the "install over previous version" is almost the same as "wipe the disk" when you have only ubuntu. The difference is if you have another OS, the wipe option will wipe all, and the install over will only wipe your old ubuntu and install over it.

First see what testdisk comes up with. It's very good recovering deleted partitions.