PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed 13.04 64 Bit. All personal settings reset afer every reboot.

modalsurrealist
June 1st, 2013, 05:35 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for a couple years, and in spite of knowing little, i haven't really had any problems until i installed 13.04. It all seemed to go smoothly, then installed all my favorite programs, settings, background etc. Then i shut my computer down for the night and when i came back to it, everything had been reset to the way i found it after installing it. I then setup all my programs and settings all over again, only to find the changes lost the next time i rebooted. This happens every time.

And on top of that, it will not let me create a new startup disk.

When i try to erase my SD card in the Startup Disk Creator, i get this,

"org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."

I thought to try formatting the SD card with gparted, but when i click on gparted nothing happens.

I pulled out a brand new SD card i just bought, and that seemed to "erase" just fine, so i click "Make Startup Disk", and get this,

"An uncaught exception was raised:
[Errno 13] Permission denied: '/tmp/tmp0dytve'."

Any ideas what wrong, or what i can do to get myself out of this mess?:mad:

2F4U
June 1st, 2013, 06:08 PM
Is it possible that you are running from a flash device instead of a hdd? That would explain why all settings and installed programs are lost after a reboot. While you can install programs and perform configurations on, for example, a usb flash drive, these are usually not persistent unless you create it with persistence option.

modalsurrealist
June 6th, 2013, 04:57 PM