PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Init file missing - 13.04 new install

WinkingFrog
May 31st, 2013, 09:03 AM
Hi all, hopefully someone can help out a Linux newbie here (and yes, I have done some searching before posting:P)

I have spent some time having a good play with a USB live distro prior to making the switch, but soon decided to completely change my Compaq Presario CQ61 laptop over to Ubuntu. I have now run through the installation of 13.04 64bit twice, stopping in between to clear down the partitions thinking that the left over guff from Windows/Recovery might have caused this error - but it's back again, exactly the same.

After install I reboot from the live distro and am faced with a blank purple screen and flashing caps lock light. So I tried to follow the advice for that but can't - ubuntu isn't getting far enough through install to fiddle with drivers and the likes, and works on the live distro fine so I can't see it being that anyway. When I restart the machine again I get the launch menu, so take the option to load with rescue mode. Again, I get so far through the boot sequence to be faced with a 'Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found' error. But unlike most of the forum posts I have found there are no suggestions for the init switch, just "init= ". I have attached an image below showing more of the error. I can still get into the file system using the live distro, but being a newbie with some basic linux server knowledge from my web development background I have kind of hit a wall with getting this up and running.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-TQ4DrVkOp1Q/UahYgRWm8xI/AAAAAAAAAKs/dvk8v2QK-iw/w672-h502-no/photo.JPG

Can someone help me sort this out?

All advice listened to carefully and tried with enthusiasm ;-)

Cheers,

Gordon

ohnonot
June 2nd, 2013, 01:23 AM
- make sure the .iso is not corrupted (check checksums), neither is the usb stick or whatever you're using.