PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to dual boot with Windows 8

samunitions
May 30th, 2013, 04:12 PM
Hello,
I'm a Linux beginner, haven't used it since I graduated in 99.

But I'm a Windows developer with reasonable infrastructure knowledge.

Today I downloaded the latest ubuntu version and attempted to install it.
I created a bootable usb
Freed up 100GB of space on the hd, and left them unallocated

Rebooted , and chose the Install Inside Windows 8 version....

I get a Signal 15 error and the machine reboots.

From reading many related threads it seems to be due to partition configuration.
I've attached a snapshot of my partition configuration.

Would appreciate advice on how to proceed from here, given that I cannot delete this Win 8 installation, and require all the files in C: and F: to remain intact.

Thanks
-Sam Amin

gordintoronto
May 31st, 2013, 12:36 AM
It's always helpful to say what version of Ubuntu you downloaded. The latest version is 13.04, but I think it no longer supports "inside Windows." In any case, if you created a partition for Ubuntu, you don't want "inside Windows." I have not installed Ubuntu in exactly the configuration you have, but I think there might be a "install in free space" option. If not, choose "something else" and manually specify the partitioning. (You might find it useful in the long term to specify three Linux partitions: / (root) of about 20 GB, swap just a bit larger than the computer's memory, and /home for the rest. This simplifies installing new versions when they become available.)

I hope you have multiple full backups of your files, since it is easy to make a mistake which wipes everything from your computer.

Does the hard drive use GPT partitioning?

arpanaut
May 31st, 2013, 03:32 AM
Linux does not recognize dynamic disks.
You will need to find a way out of that before you can install.
Take a look at this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1705481&p=10552116&viewfull=1#post10552116

fantab