PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Initial Install

SlaneBoy
May 29th, 2013, 04:17 PM
Good morning. Every now and then, I become curious about Ubuntu but it appears as if I need to call it a day with this poor excuse for an OS . I tried using Wubi and installing Ubuntu 13.10 onto my Dell Optiplex GX 260 w/ a SL6RZ P4 CPU . It uses the onboard Intel Extreme Graphics 82845 G/GV Video chip. Never seen anything so pathetic in a long time - After initial install, when I use my Password to Login, it completely clears the Display of everything but the Default Wallpaper. Nothing but that orange, reddish waveform. No Taskbar on top. no Unity menu items on left, NOTHING ! Those items ARE there before I Login, but quickly disappear and freeze that spinning wheel thing. My God - I'm a Tech and when you're faced with a glitch like this, it's rather pessimistic about the entire platform. Remarkable! Glitched from Jump Street. What to do?

fantab
May 29th, 2013, 05:07 PM
Are you sure you have 13.10 WUBI install? Perhaps you meant 12.10.
Can you tell us how much memory you've got? If its 1GB or less then I suggest you try Lubuntu (http://lubuntu.net/). Its quite light on the system resources. It is Ubuntu but with LXDE desktop, unlike the default UNITY which requires more resources to run.

SlaneBoy
May 29th, 2013, 05:41 PM