PDA

View Full Version : Xubuntu 13.04 new install question

motorcity909
May 25th, 2013, 06:33 PM
Hi all

I've been using Xubuntu since Feb 2012 but recently my hard drive failed so I've installed a new one today and installed Xubuntu 13.04 and have spent the past few hours installing applications and copying my music & photos etc across. All fine.

Howevere, I just did a reboot and instead of the nice Xubuntu blue screen, I saw a terminal style screen with various commands running, followed when booting by a plain text "Xubuntu 13.04" with three dots beneath, rather than the nice spinning circle. It reminded me of my first Ubuntu install back in 2009.

I hope this explanation is okay. I guess I could film it if needed!

Have I done something wrong?

Above and beyond the vanilla install I have added -

Ubuntu One, Tomboy Notes, Google Earth, Guayadeque, Libre Office and switched to the Nvidia 3.10 driver.

Many thanks for any help
Dave

Merrattic
May 25th, 2013, 06:44 PM
Probably to do with the video driver

Have you rebooted a few times, usually sorts itself out in my experience ?

motorcity909
May 25th, 2013, 08:21 PM
I went back to the Nouveau driver and on re-boot got the nice Xubuntu screen.

So should I stay with that driver?

What advantage (if any) does the Nvidia driver give me? I'm not a gamer, no Steam or anything.

Merrattic
May 26th, 2013, 11:49 AM
Given the driver comes from Nvidia it "should" be better |) however this is not always the case. If it all works OK with the Nouveau driver then stick with it ?

motorcity909
May 27th, 2013, 04:00 PM
I've ended up using the Nvida 310 driver. Downside is when the computer boots or re-boots, there is a horrible looking terminal-style screen with various code shown ("battery checked - ok"), whereas the Nouvea driver gave the nice Xubuntu blue screen with the spinning circle.