PDA

View Full Version : JVM vs .NET/Mono

BluNova
May 13th, 2013, 07:42 PM
What do you prefer and why?

I prefer JVM as it has better cross platform support, is properly opensource (I know mono is but it's playing catch up all the time), and I like JavaDocs

King Dude
May 13th, 2013, 07:51 PM
I'm not especially familiar with JVM, but I don't care for Java as a language, for various reasons. But then again, I'm new to the idea of JVM, so I'm not sure and I'll remain neutral until I'm able to decide for myself.

Leuchten
May 13th, 2013, 09:19 PM
The jvm has many non-java languages available for it, groovy, clojure, and scala among them.

I love the jvm because it has scala, and because it is fast on all platforms, unlike the clr.

King Dude
May 14th, 2013, 03:00 AM
I've never heard of groovy or clojure. Are there any more well known languages in JVM?

spjackson
May 14th, 2013, 11:55 AM
It depends what you mean by "well known". There are certainly many more languages for the JVM (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_JVM_languages).

King Dude
May 14th, 2013, 07:21 PM
Well, I think of well known languages as in languages derived from the C language family, or Python, Pascal, Fortran, Assembly, etc.

There is a grey area on what exactly counts as well known, but I can imagine that more people use C, among other languages, than groovy.

Leuchten
May 15th, 2013, 12:38 PM
Considering groovy is very similar to java, I think it qualifies as a c language family derivative.

Scala/groovy/clojure, don't need to be super ubiquitous to be useful thankfully because they all can interoperate with java and its huge ecosystem.

King Dude
May 15th, 2013, 10:37 PM
The more well-known the language is the better when it comes to Open Source software, namely Ubuntu. That's why C, C++, Python, and Lua is commonly used to develop software in the Open Source development community.