PDA

View Full Version : Grumbling again about Linux

Oldmartian
May 12th, 2013, 03:35 AM
I'm now almost 71 years old. I've been involved with computers since their infancy. I grew up with MSDOS. I ebraced Windows. Until it got unweildly.

But Linux has always intrigued me. I've tried almost every distro from the early days until now. But if I want to get something done; to make my computer productive I always have to go back to Windows.

I was recently telling a friend about this ... And that got me to thinking: I haven't given the new Ubuntu a try recently. I D/L the 64-bit Ubuntu 13 live and it was sweet. So I tried to install it beside Windows 8. Almost lost my Windows 8. Three days lost, but I recoverd my Win8, but I'm still trying. My problem had something to do with EUFI. So I studied up on that but I think I need one of the LTS versions. I'll worl on dual-boot and EUFI vs. lagacy later, maybe.

So today I got the Ubuntu 12.4.2 LTS, fired it up and it's not as good as the latest (13.x), but that's not so bad. I ran the Live CD and I fired up Firefox and LINUX STRIKES AGAIN!! I get an error message that the Internet cable isn't connected. Well Windows 8 thinks the cable is connected. The computer hasn't moved. I don't have a cat. I took out the Live CD and rebooted and I'm now using Windows 8 using the Internet to type this.

I've never had much luck trouble-shooting Linux. I've had friends help me in the past but they get into a multitude of command line statements that are way over my head. I don't want to write code to have to type a letter; I don't want to take apart my computer to run a Linux program or go on the Internet. I just want to get on the Internet. Maybe try e-mailing on a Live CD.

Before I die (the male side of my family generally doesn't get too far beyond 74 years of age) I'd like to functionally "use" Linux.