PDA

View Full Version : Using Php to Start/Stop daemon in ubuntu server

termvrl
May 11th, 2013, 11:40 AM
Hi All,

i am install a apache, mysql server in ubuntu 12.04.
what i try to do, using a php code to start/stop mysql daemon.

here my code,

<html>
<body>

<?php
exec("sudo /etc/init.d/mysql start > /dev/null 2>&1 &");
?>
</body>
</html>

when i do ps aux, mysql not running... when i try to use phpadmin console also cannot login.

thanks

p/s: this is repost. i have post this on Absolute beginner but no one answer.

hakermania
May 11th, 2013, 12:06 PM
Hi there! I guess it doesn't run due to the fact that sudo will expect your password after the command executes.

A completely unsafe (but quick) way to achieve this is to do:

echo your_password_here | sudo -S your_command_here
Another way would be to edit the sudoers file and allow the user which attempts to run mysql (I don't know which user is being used from apache to run stuff like this) without password.

More info for the latter way here:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/159007/how-do-i-run-specific-sudo-commands-without-a-password

termvrl
May 11th, 2013, 07:11 PM
Hi ,
thanks for your help.
when i try put apache user, www-data, to sudoers, the mysql daemon still not start.

root ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL
www-data ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL

same also when i do,

<?php

echo (your_password_here | sudo -S sudo /etc/init.d/mysql start);

?>

i'm new to php, sorry if i get it wrong

epicoder
May 12th, 2013, 03:54 AM
One thing you could do is allow www-data to run /etc/init.d/mysql as root without a password. Before you do that, please consider the following security hole that would then be opened: