PDA

View Full Version : upgrading server from 7.10 to latest LTS

rebeltaz
May 8th, 2013, 07:13 PM
I have been running a server for the past 5 years (?) using 7.10 Server without GUI. I haven't had any real issues, except that web crawlers are bogging my system down to a crawl. I found through searching that I can install the bw module for apache2 to limit bandwidth, but I need a higher version Ubuntu to do that.

Since this is a webserver with forums, a fresh install really isn't an option. I cannot upgrade using 'apt-get dist-upgrade' - it says the system IS up to date. I tried downloading the 8.04LTS server alternate CD, but there is no option to upgrade, only to install. I dropped to the command line (ESC since ALT-F2 does nothing) and tried to run 'gksu "sh /cdrom/cdromupgrade"' as directed here - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HardyUpgrades - but that results in the error message "could not find kernel image: gksu". Actually, it tells me that for EVERY command I try, including ls.

I assume that I can't upgrade from 7.10 to 12.10LTS directly, so can someone please help? I would really appreciate it - as would my network!

Frogs Hair
May 8th, 2013, 08:02 PM
The following is from Ask Ubuntu and may give some direction. Manually adding the 12.04 repository software sources maybe possible, but have no idea if it would work. Installing 12.04 server on a different partition come to mind but would still require a change over.

Ask Ubuntu

http://askubuntu.com/questions/91815/how-to-install-software-or-upgrade-from-old-unsupported-release

http://old-releases.ubuntu.com/

f you want to continue using an outdated release then edit /etc/apt/sources.list and change archive.ubuntu.com to old-releases.ubuntu.com

You can do this with sed

sudo sed -i -e 's/archive.ubuntu.com/old-releases.ubuntu.com/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
then update with

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade source

See also:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/EOLUpgrades/
shareimp