PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problems trying to upgrade lucid 10.0.4 to next LTS

aironman
May 7th, 2013, 04:38 PM
Hi everyone, it is my first time here in this forum. I am trying to upgrade this ubuntu system to the next LTS version and i am encountering some problems when i try to upgrade.

cristina@cristina:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
Reading package lists ... done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information ... done
Correcting dependencies ... failed.
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libc6: Depends: libc-bin (= 2.11.1-0ubuntu7.10) but 2.15-0ubuntu10.2 is installed
Recommends: libc6-i686
python-louis: Depends: liblouis0 (> = 1.7.0-2) but it is not installable
ubuntu-minimal: Depends: libc6-i686
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver :: Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies

If i try it with synaptic, the tool gives me 3 broken packages:

libc6, python-louis and ubuntu-minimal.

I cannot upgrade this packages using synaptic or doing a apt-get -f install and in the meanwhile i cannot upgrade the system. I cannot upgrade the system with a fresh install.

cristina@cristina:~$ cat /etc/lsb-release
DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=10.04
DISTRIB_CODENAME=lucid
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS"

Thanx in advance

darkod
May 7th, 2013, 04:52 PM
How about something like:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall libc6 libc-bin python-louis liblouis0

Also if you have any third party repositories it's best to disable them temporarily. And did you run also apt-get update first?

aironman
May 8th, 2013, 10:31 AM
"How about something like:
Code:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall libc6 libc-bin python-louis liblouis0
Also if you have any third party repositories it's best to disable them temporarily. And did you run also apt-get update first?"

Hi darkod, thanks for the anwer, i have tried your proposal but unfortunately it does not work. also i have tried with this solution:

from