PDA

View Full Version : Install on external hard drive

mgiavr01
May 6th, 2013, 02:07 PM
Hello,
I am new to ubuntu and i would like some help.
I have a laptop with windows 7 installed but i would love to have ubuntu too because it's a great OS.
So i would like to install ubuntu on an external usb hard drive (320 - 500 GB) and i have some questions about that :

- Do i need a usb external hard drive which will be compatible with ubuntu - linux ? or i can do it with any hard drive
- If i make a partition on it for ubuntu staff will i be able to use it and save other staff in the usb hard drive (movies,songs,documents etc) ?
- If i have ubuntu installed on the usb hard drive will i be able to boot ubuntu from any pc ?
- Are my changes going to be saved normally or my settings will be lost after shut down ?

Waiting for your answers, if something is not explain well tell me to try explain it better .
Thank you!

pfeiffep
May 6th, 2013, 03:04 PM
I am answering this using a Linux Mint installation on an external USB2 hard drive.:KS

- Do i need a usb external hard drive which will be compatible with ubuntu - linux ? or i can do it with any hard drive
Probably any hard drive will work, You need to insure that your PC will boot from USB

- If i make a partition on it for ubuntu staff will i be able to use it and save other staff in the usb hard drive (movies,songs,documents etc) ?
You will need to use 'something else' when installing as an option to insure the flexibility of saving space for data. If the goal is to share the data with other OSes consider if you need Windows to access data. Newer Windows can read read NTFS partitions, but not ext#.

- If i have ubuntu installed on the usb hard drive will i be able to boot ubuntu from any pc ?